Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences

33 nominations encompassing 14 different nationalities are in the running for this Award, the fourth of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, which are now in their 40th edition 


The meeting of the Jury responsible for awarding the 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, the fourth of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on 11th June. The awards will be bestowed this year for the 40th time in their history. Thirty-three nominations encompassing fourteen different nationalities, have been nominated for this award.

As an exceptional measure, the Jury meeting will be held via video conference due to the health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Jury’s acting secretary will be appointed by the Foundation, as established in the Regulations for the Awards. Furthermore, its chairperson will be the same as in the previous edition so as to facilitate the holding of the meeting, as approved by the institution’s Board of Trustees.

As stated in the Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences shall be aimed at recognizing “creative and/or research work in the field of history, law, linguistics, teaching, political science, psychology, sociology, ethics, philosophy, geography, economics, demography or anthropology, as well as in the disciplines corresponding to each of these fields.”

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolizing the accolade, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of €50,000.

The Jury’s decision will be announced at the end of the meeting that same Thursday morning/early afternoon via a press release and on the Foundation’s website and social networks. A recording of the reading of the Minutes of the Jury by its chairperson will also be made available to the media via the Virtual Press Room.

Jury composition

The jury will be made up of the following members:

  • - Juan Barja de Quiroga Losada
  • Adela Cortina Orts
  • Juan Pablo Fusi Aizpurúa
  • Mauro Guillén Rodríguez
  • Carmen Iglesias Cano, Countess of Gisbert (acting president)
  • Silvia Iranzo Gutiérrez
  • Emilio Lamo de Espinosa Michels de Champourcin
  • Óscar Loureda Lamas
  • Manuel Menéndez Menéndez
  • Enrique Moradiellos García
  • Montserrat Moreno Marimón
  • Emilio Ontiveros Baeza
  • Jaime Pérez Renovales
  • Rafael Puyol Antolín
  • Isaac Querub Caro
  • Myriam Seco Álvarez
  • Marta Elvira Rojo (acting secretary)

Information of interest



Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades